Timbuk2 Copilot Luggage Roller
Timbuk2 Copilot Luggage Roller

I’m not one for rolling suitcases. I pack light, to a fault, out of a preference for carrying weight on my back—even in hand—over dragging it alongside me. Why? Something about the romance of freewheeling travel, and trusting your feet as your only anchors to the ground.

Nonetheless, San Francisco-based luggage company Timbuk2 (which at the time of posting is running a 25% Mother’s Day-inspired women’s sale) was recently kind enough to send over a rolling suitcase for me to try out, which I did on a recent trip to Montreal. So here’s my take on the Timbuk2 Copilot Luggage Roller, 2014 edition:

Basics:
The bag come in three sizes: S, M and XL. Large is just skipped entirely (I imagine so the largest size sounds and can be written as bigger). The medium (M) size, which I now have, is available in four pretty similar color schemes, while the small (S) and extra large (XL) come in just three and two respectively. Here are dimensions, as pulled from the site:

 WIDTH HEIGHT DEPTH WEIGHT VOLUME
incmincmincmlbkgcu inL
S14.236.120.050.89.022.96.63.02,56342.0
M14.236.121.654.99.824.96.63.03,17352.0
XL14.637.128.772.913.835.18.84.06,591108.0

 

Skateboard wheels on the Timbuk2 Copilot Luggage Roller
Skateboard wheels on the Timbuk2 Copilot Luggage Roller

Cool features
The wheels
One of Timbuk2’s hallmarks is their use of skateboard wheels on their rolling bags. While spinners (wheels capable of spinning 360 degrees) are probably more convenient overall, I really liked the skateboard wheels. They roll fast, and more importantly, smoothly—incredibly smoothly. Plus, it’s kind of a cool idea if you have even plutonic feelings for skateboarding.

Lightweight
The website notes its “Durable nylon and fabric reinforced tarpaulin fabric construction.” In less knotty language, and more detail, this may partly explain why the Copilot is so extremely light (6.6 pounds). In fact, I actually found it too light with just my backpack overflow inside, unable to withstand the tug of momentum to either side as I whipped through turns at the airport.

In a more typical travel context, however, the bag would be carrying more weight, and so the bag’s structural agility is a big plus. It’s less weight to carry, and more pounds available for your stuff (and not lost to airline weight restrictions).

Handles
The main, telescopic handle is fine, and nothing special (though it does feel sturdy). What earns this bag a high handle score is the fact that it is wrapped with four other, subtler handles offering more opportunities for firm grip. There’s one on each side, one on the top (next to the telescopic one) and one on the front. Pretty convenient, especially if you do end up having to wrench it off the baggage carousel.

Timbuk2 Copilot Luggage Roller
Timbuk2 Copilot Luggage Roller

Use of space
It’s important to note again here that I’m not well-versed in luggage that rolls, or that is engineered to be checked for that matter. But that being said, the design team found some creative ways to use the Copilot’s packing space. On the outside, there’s a thin pocket that apparently can hold “up to 13″ MacBook Pro.” I’m not sure I’d be comfortable subjecting my laptop (or tablet) to the beating a bag’s exterior—itself the protective, not protected layer—takes, but it is convenient. And it does fit. Above this pocket, there’s a short, deep pocket at the top of the bag, which is perfect for holding items you want to keep easily accessible. It’s also probably a great place to keep several giant Toblerones, as it’s the perfect shape for that.

Inside, the space is halved with great precision. Zippered nets on each side make intelligent, compartmentalized packing pretty easy (one half for clean clothes, one for worn, etc.). I won’t say it’s one-of-a-kind, but the construction is strong, and something to be satisfied with.

Value
The price of a Copilot, by size:

  • Small (S)—$209
  • Medium (M)—$225
  • Extra large (XL)—$299

Considering the money you can very easily spend on a bag these days, the quality of these bags and the Timbuk2 Lifetime Warranty, I’d say this is a pretty great value.

Final thoughts
For the money, this is a good bag with some nice features. It’s still in the wrong category of bag for me, but comparatively, its clever pockets and structural agility are well-suited to the more impulsive, self-reliant style of travel that is the cornerstone of Google-age wandering. Still, there was one thing that I didn’t like: the aesthetic. The look, the colors (and again, there isn’t much variation in the options), the textures—I just couldn’t identify with it, and that’s important when it comes to what is essentially your closest travel companion on any trip. Fortunately, aesthetic preferences are as varied as the color options on this bag are not—so if a Timbuk2 Copilot Luggage Roller looks good to you, go for it.

Ian Livingston
Advertisement

Chase Sapphire Preferred® Card

recommended-cart-post-image
APPLY NOW
  • Earn 60,000 bonus points after you spend $4,000 on purchases in the first 3 months from account opening. That's $750 toward travel when you redeem through Chase Ultimate Rewards®
  • 2X points on travel and dining at restaurants worldwide, eligible delivery services, takeout and dining out & 1 point per dollar spent on all other purchases.
  • Get 25% more value when you redeem for travel through Chase Ultimate Rewards®. For example, 60,000 points are worth $750 toward travel.
  • With Pay Yourself Back℠, your points are worth 25% more during the current offer when you redeem them for statement credits against existing purchases in select, rotating categories.
  • Get unlimited deliveries with a $0 delivery fee and reduced service fees on orders over $12 for a minimum of one year on qualifying food purchases with DashPass, DoorDash's subscription service. Activate by 12/31/21.
  • Earn 2x total points on up to $1,000 in grocery store purchases per month from November 1, 2020 to April 30, 2021. Includes eligible pick-up and delivery services.

The comments on this page are not provided, reviewed, or otherwise approved by the bank advertiser. It is not the bank advertiser's responsibility to ensure all posts and/or questions are answered.

Editorial Note: The editorial content on this page is not provided by any bank, credit card issuer, airlines or hotel chain, and has not been reviewed, approved or otherwise endorsed by any of these entities.

2 Comments On "Product Review: Timbuk2 Copilot Luggage Roller"
  1. Joe|

    I understand that the dimensions are a good start in determining what will actually be accepted by foreign and domestic airlines. What size did you test and how did it fair in carry-on ability (ie. would it be acceptable for an airling carry-on in your trials)? Thank you.

  2. David|

    It looks like a great bag. One feature that is missing is a sleeve that would allow it to piggy back over the handle of one’s large bag when traveling.

Leave a Reply

Required fields are marked *